Yoga Sutras of Patanjali

Create a place in your home to feel at peace. Bring a sense of the sacred into your living space.Take the time to choose carefully what you place on your altar. Each item should have meaning and spiritual symbolism. The altar is a visible reminder of the invisible realities of the spiritual realms.Change the order and the energy of your sacred altars often.

1.2yogah cittavritti nirodhah

Yoga is the cessation of the movements of consciousness

1.3 tadadrastuh svarupe avasthanam

Then, the seer dwells in her/his own true splendour

1.4vrtti svarupyam itaratra

At other times the seer identifies with the fluctuating consciousness.

1.12abhyasa vairagyabhyam tannirodhah

Practice and detachment are the means to still the movements of consciousness

1.14sa tu dirghakala nairantarya satkara asevitah drdhab

Long, uninterrupted, alert practice is the firm foundation for restraining the fluctuations

2.46sthira sukham asanam

Asana is perfect firmness of body, steadiness of intelligence and benevolence of spirit.

1.30vyadhi styana samsaya pramada alasya avirati bhrantidarsana alabhdhabhumihkatva

anavasthitstvani cittaviksepah te antarayah

Thes obstacles are disease, inertia, doubt heedlessness, laziness, indiscipline of the senses, erroneous views, lack of perseverance and backsliding

3.3avidya asmita raga dvesha abhinevesha klesha

The five afflictions which disturb the equilibrium of consciousnessare: ignorance or lack of wisdom, ego, pride of the ego or the sense of “I”, attachment to pleasure, aversion to pain, fear of death and clinging to life.